Wright Plus Housewalk gives glimpse into private FLW-designed homes

0
1226
Photo courtesy of FLWright.org

The 42nd Annual Wright Plus Housewalk will feature a rare glimpse into eight private homes and buildings in Oak Park and River Forest designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and other pioneering architects during the turn of the century. The tour will take place Saturday, May 21 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The 2016 theme is Wright and the Prairie School, showcasing architecture that rejected historical revivalism and instead looked to erect buildings more suitable for contemporary American lifestyle, according to the Frank Lloyd Wright Trust.

Tickets are $110 for non-members and $95 for members of the Frank Lloyd Wright Trust; these can be purchased in advance at FLW Trust. According to the OPRF Patch, homes and buildings on the tour include:

  • Harry S. Adams House (Frank Lloyd Wright, 1913) – This classic Prairie house was Frank Lloyd Wright’s final Oak Park commission.
  • Thomas Gale House (Frank Lloyd Wright, 1892) – An early Wright bootleg house distills Queen Anne design elements to their essential geometry.
  • Louisa and Harry Goodrich House (Frank Lloyd Wright, 1896) – Wright’s take on the popular Queen Anne style, meticulously restored and showcasing a new conservatory addition.
  • William E. Drummond House (William E. Drummond, 1910) – The personal residence of Frank Lloyd Wright’s key associate, inspired by Wright’s Fireproof House.
  • Mary Greenless Yerkes House (John S. Van Bergen, 1912) – A creative interpretation of Wright’s Fireproof House features original fixtures and built-ins.
  • River Forest Women’s Club (Drummond and Guenzel, 1913) – Former Women’s Club by Wright’s chief draftsman, innovatively transformed to residential use.
  • Charles J. Barr House (William E. Drummond & Louis Guenzel, 1912) – Distinctly Prairie style, with an efficient floor plan highlighted by a grand central fireplace.
  • Telfer MacArthur House (White and Bertram A. Weber, 1928) – A beautifully appointed Tudor Revival home with a dramatic two-story addition.

The term “Prairie School” was coined by historian H. Allen Brooks, who was the first to write about this group of architects. According to FLW Trust, the prairie style of architecture was in decline for a return to more conservative architecture by the end of World War I. For more information about the housewalk, visit FLW Trust.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here